Call Us: 1.888.761.1164 - E-Mail: [email protected]

Events

Advantage Through Partnership

Dying with Dignity Canada State of the Movement — May 27 Livestream

Date: May 27, 2018
Time: 2:00 pm  to  12:00 am

Are you interested in learning more about the state of Canadians’ end-of-life rights two years after the passage of the federal assisted dying law?

Then consider tuning in on Sunday, May 27 for the State of the Movement address at Dying With Dignity Canada’s 2018 Annual General Meeting. It’s the first time ever that we will livestream segments of our AGM on the Internet. This presentation will feature remarks from outgoing DWDC Board Chair Jack Pasht, and a detailed review of the past year from CEO Shanaaz Gokool. (Please note that only the non-business portion of the AGM will be livestreamed; the broadcast will not include voting on resolutions.)

We are thrilled to announce that the 2018 keynote address will be delivered by Prof. Jocelyn Downie, a leading scholar in the field of end-of-life rights and medical assistance in dying. She was a member of the pro bono legal team in Carter v. Canada, a member of the Provincial-Territorial Expert Advisory Group on Physician-Assisted Dying and a member of the Royal Society of Canada’s Expert Panel on End-of-Life Decision-Making. A professor of law and health care ethics at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Prof. Downie was recently named to an independent research panel that will report to Parliament later this year on the future of assisted dying in Canada. In addition, she was recently appointed as a member of the Order of Canada.

We are also pleased to be joined by Liana Brittain, a writer, educator and member of our Disability Advisory Council. Over the past 12 months, Liana has changed the conversation around end-of-life choice in Canada by raising her voice about her husband’s journey with medical assistance in dying. By speaking out about Paul’s choice, she has advanced his growing legacy and provided comfort to families across the country who have gone through a similar experience.

  • What: State of the Movement 2018 Livestream
  • When: Sunday, May 27 at 2 p.m. Eastern (11 a.m. Pacific/12 p.m. Mountain/1 p.m. Central/3 p.m. Atlantic/3:30 p.m. Newfoundland)
  • How to RSVP: Space is limited, so please RSVP today! You can sign up on DWDC’s website or by sending an email to [email protected]. We will send you a message a few days before the event with a link to the livestream and information on how to log in.
Back to Top